What does it mean to be a Global Citizen? This sounds like an existential question. The reality is that we are all global citizens as our existence and survival are interlinked with the rest of the world. In this section, we provide you with resources to discover the meaning and responsibilities of being a Global Citizen to contribute towards a more equitable and sustainable world. As a global citizen, let’s look at how sustainable solutions can support community development that addresses the needs of a specific community.
|
What is Global Citizenship Education? Have you ever wondered what Global Citizenship is? This 1-min quick video will give you some ideas. |
|
Asset-Based Community Development for Local Authorities Asset-Based Community Development aims to achieve sustainable community development by building on the strengths of individuals and infrastructures within the community. Watch this video on how ABCD is adopted in a small town in the UK. |
|
SG Cares Giving Week 2021: Giving Gives Life SG Cares Giving Week is an anchor initiative of the national SG Cares movement held annually in December that celebrates the spirit of giving and seeks to make giving part of our way of life. |
|
Sustainable Development Goals: Improve Life All Around The Globe Have you ever wondered what the 17 United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UNSDGs) are, and why they are important to you and I? |
The business student's guide to sustainable management: Principles and practice by
Aimed at undergraduates, this is the first textbook to offer a full introduction to sustainable management, covering all subject areas relevant to business students. The book includes chapters and seminars on subjects such as: Corporate Sustainable Strategy; Sustainable Marketing; Sustainability Reporting; Supply Chain Management; Human Resources Management: Supporting Sustainable Business; Environmental Economics; Sustainable Operations Management; Greenhouse Gas Management and System Thinking in Sustainable Management. The book contains nearly 30 ready-made seminars employing various teaching methods. Each chapter follows the same, easy-to-use format. This book provides a true treasure chest of materials to support staff wanting to integrate sustainability into their teaching and provides support to effectively embed sustainability in the curriculum. The chapters also offer a starting point in developing teaching units for Masters and MBA students. The material is not just useful to people in business schools, but to those involved in wider scale curriculum change, and those looking to make links between different disciplines.
Responsible business: The textbook for management learning, competence and innovation by
As sustainable development becomes an increasingly important strategic issue for all organizations, there is a growing need for management and executive education to adapt to this new reality. This textbook provides a theoretically sound and highly relevant introduction to the topic of socially and environmentally responsible business. The authors take a "competence-based approach" to responsible management education. The book aims to go beyond the traditional domains of teaching and towards the facilitation of learning across key competences. Each chapter in this book has a section dedicated to exercises that cover five core competences - know, think, do, relate, be - to enable self-directed transformative learning. Drawing from the classic background theories such as corporate sustainability, business ethics, and corporate social responsibility, these concepts are applied to the most up-to-date practices. The book covers an international perspective, featuring cases from countries all around the world, has a strong theoretical basis, and fully integrates the topics of sustainability, responsibility and ethics.The book includes a wide variety of tools for change at individual, company and systemic levels. Published with the Principles for Responsible Management Education (PRME), a United Nations Global Compact supported initiative, this is both an essential resource for business students at all levels and self-study handbook for executives.
Sustainability principles and practice by
Sustainability Principles and Practicegives an accessible and comprehensive overview of the interdisciplinary field of sustainability. The focus is on furnishing solutions and equipping the student with both conceptual understanding and technical skills for the workplace. Each chapter explores one aspect of the field, first introducing relevant theory and presenting issues, then supplying tools for working toward solutions. Elements of sustainability are examined piece by piece, and wide coverage ranges over ecosystems, social equity, environmental justice, food, energy, product life cycles, cities, and more. Techniques for management and measurement as well as case studies from around the world are provided. Chapters include further reading, discussion questions, and problems to foster quantitative thinking. The book is supported by a companion website with key website links, detailed reading lists, glossary, and additional case studies, together with numerous projects, research problems, and group activities, all of which focus on real-world problem solving of sustainability issues. The textbook is designed to be used by undergraduate college and university students in sustainability degree programs and other programs in which sustainability is taught. es, together with numerous projects, research problems, and group activities, all of which focus on real-world problem solving of sustainability issues. The textbook is designed to be used by undergraduate college and university students in sustainability degree programs and other programs in which sustainability is taught.
Working toward sustainability: Ethical decision making in a technological world by
A comprehensive introduction to the ethics of sustainability for empowering professionals and practitioners in many different fields By building the framework for balancing technological developments with their social and environmental effects, sustainable practices have grounded the vision of the green movement for the past few decades. Now deeply rooted in the public conscience, sustainability has put its stamp on various institutions and sectors, from national to local governments, from agriculture to tourism, and from manufacturing to resource management. But until now, the technological sector has operated without a cohesive set of sustainability principles to guide its actions. Working Toward Sustainability fills this gap by empowering professionals in various fields with an understanding of the ethical foundations they need to promoting and achieving sustainable development. In addition, Working Toward Sustainability: Offers a comprehensive introduction to the ethics of sustainability for those in the technical fields whether construction, engineering, resource management, the sciences, architecture, or design Supports nine central principles using case studies, exercises, and instructor material Includes illustrations throughout to help bring the concepts to life By demonstrating that sustainable solutions tart with ethical choices, this groundbreaking book helps professionals in virtually every sector and field of endeavor work toward sustainability.