This is your guide to finding and using the best resources for your Fashion Management & Design projects and assignments. Browse this page for recommended reads and new arrivals, or follow the menu tabs above to start some serious research.
Videos
Articles from the Internet
Top Resources for FMD
WGSN is an excellent resource for all Design students. You will need to login using your TP username and password to read the articles below.
Looking for Singapore news? Newslink contains searchable archives of local newspapers published by SPH.
Recommended Reads
The Business of Fashion by
Revised to keep up with the quickly evolving landscape of the fashion industry, the fifth edition of this authoritative text offers updated information on the design, manufacturing, marketing, and distribution of fashion products within a global context. Research-based content provides insight on the organization and operation of textiles, apparel, accessories, and home fashion companies, as well as the effect of technological, organizational, and global changes on every area of the business.
Fashion : The essential visual guide to the world of style by
Revealing the fashion industry as never before, this beautiful book contains a wealth of invaluable information every fashionista should know. Written by fashion insider and bestselling author Karen Homer, and featuring stunning original illustrations, this stylish visual guide tells the stories behind trends such as the most iconic fabrics and prints, glasses as the ultimate fashion accessory, the ubiquitous Little Black Dress, and the rise of the metrosexual.
Fashion Drawing by
Fashion Drawing is a comprehensive, practical guide to fashion drawing for students of fashion design.
Fashion Promotion in Practice by
Fashion lives and dies by stories. Aiming to 'tell the stories of fashion', Fashion Promotion in Practice both instructs and inspires through an entertaining look at contemporary promotional practice within the fashion industry, showing you how you can apply this to your own future brands and campaigns.
The Fundamentals of Fashion Design by
The Fundamentals of Fashion Design provides a fully illustrated introduction to the key elements of fashion design, from the initial concept of a fashion idea to realizing it in 3D form. Writing with clarity and precision, Richard Sorger and Jenny Udale explain the entire fashion design process, including research and design, fabrics and their properties, construction methods and how to form and promote a collection.
Guide to Fashion Career Planning by
Guide to Fashion Career Planning provides an in-depth overview of preparing for a career in the fashion industry - across many job possibilities, skill sets, and career interests - and guides the readers through professional preparation from goal setting all the way to finding the first job.
Items: Is Fashion Modern? by
An encyclopaedic selection of 111 garments, footwear, and accessories - from humble masterpieces to high fashion - that have had a strong impact on society in the 20th and 21st centuries and continue to hold currency today.
Portfolio Presentation for Fashion Designers by
Portfolio Presentation for Fashion Designers is your best guide to showing your designs, skill sets, and creativity, to get you that job. In new images throughout, the book shows examples of croquis books, spec and flat drawings, and visual research presentations from both fashion professionals and students.
The Trendmakers by
This book explores the social significance of trends in the global fashion industry through interviews with 'fashion intermediaries', offering new insights into their influential roles in the setting and shaping of trends.
Need Help?
Contact the librarian in charge of your school:
