Smart Cities
E-Books/Books
[E-book] Humane and Sustainable Smart Cities by
Humane and Sustainable Smart Cities explores how to develop emergent smart cities that are rooted in humane, innovative and sustainable values (CHIS). The book considers the move from technocratic and idealized smart metropole to humane cities as a product of fundamental demographic changes, the development of a usage-based rather than an ownership economy, the novel implications of digitalization, decentralization and decarbonization, and Internet-enabled changes in public opinion towards democratization and participation. The book's authors explore seven dimensions and characteristics of humane, sustainable and innovative cities in the developing world: the economy, people, the place, energy and the environment, mobility, social inclusion and governance. Additional sections the operationalization of the CHIS concept into formal planning, policy implementation, and impact assessment considerations. Final discussions center on building a roadmap for planners seeking to design development policies conducive to human values and long-term social viability. Provides an axiological framework for the development of humane, innovative and sustainable cities Examines how that framework can be operationalized into formal planning, policy implementation and impact assessment Explores humane, innovative and sustainable cities in terms of seven dimensions, including the economy, people, the place, energy and the environment, mobility, social inclusion and governance Explores proven paths for promoting effective community engagement in developing humane cities Provides a practical roadmap to design development policies conducive to human values and long-term social viability
Smart Cities for Dummies by
Become empowered to build and maintain smarter cities At its core, a smart city is a collection of technological responses to the growing demands, challenges, and complexities of improving the quality of life for billions of people now living in urban centers across the world. The movement to create smarter cities is still in its infancy, but ambitious and creative projects in all types of cities--big and small--around the globe are beginning to make a big difference. New ideas, powered by technology, are positively changing how we move humans and products from one place to another; create and distribute energy; manage waste; combat the climate crisis; build more energy efficient buildings; and improve basic city services through digitalization and the smart use of data. Inside this book you'll find out: What it really means to create smarter cities How our urban environments are being transformed Big ideas for improving the quality of life for communities Guidance on how to create a smart city strategy The essential role of data in building better cities The major new technologies ready to make a difference in every community Smart Cities For Dummies will give you the knowledge to understand this important topic in depth and be ready to be an agent of change in your community.
Smart Cities by
Transformation through digital innovation is becoming an imperative for every city. The 'Smart City' concept promises to solve the most urgent queries of progressive urbanization in the area of mobility, energy, water supply, security, housing deprivation, and inclusion. Despite the exploitation of existing potential in lighthouse-cities that include Barcelona, London, Munich, Lyon, and Vienna, the less tenacious pursuit of smart city possibilities in the majority of municipalities has resulted in major discrepancies between leading smart cities and those that are less aspirational. Although the necessity of action is frequently recognized, an appropriate path of action remains obscure. Smart Cities: Introducing Digital Innovation to Citiesoffers answers, with clarifying examples, to questions that have remained unanswered for many cities. The book identifies and addresses the core elements and potential of smart cities, best practice methods and tools to be implemented, as well as how diverse stakeholders might be effectively integrated. Based on perennial international research in the field of smart cities, this book brings together the authors' collective experience in practice-based political, administrative, and economic projects to provide a common framework to guide and engage key stakeholders in the transformation and realization of smart cities.
[E-book] Making Smart Cities More Playable by
This book explores the ways in which the broad range of technologies that make up the smart city infrastructure can be harnessed to incorporate more playfulness into the day-to-day activities that take place within smart cities, making them not only more efficient but also more enjoyable for the people who live and work within their confines. The book addresses various topics that will be of interest to playable cities stakeholders, including the human-computer interaction and game designer communities, computer scientists researching sensor and actuator technology in public spaces, urban designers, and (hopefully) urban policymakers. This is a follow-up to another book on Playable Cities edited by Anton Nijholt and published in 2017 in the same book series, Gaming Media and Social Effects.
Humane and Sustainable Smart Cities by
Humane and Sustainable Smart Cities explores how to develop emergent smart cities that are rooted in humane, innovative and sustainable values (CHIS). The book considers the move from technocratic and idealized smart metropole to humane cities as a product of fundamental demographic changes, the development of a usage-based rather than an ownership economy, the novel implications of digitalization, decentralization and decarbonization, and Internet-enabled changes in public opinion towards democratization and participation. The book's authors explore seven dimensions and characteristics of humane, sustainable and innovative cities in the developing world: the economy, people, the place, energy and the environment, mobility, social inclusion and governance. Additional sections the operationalization of the CHIS concept into formal planning, policy implementation, and impact assessment considerations. Final discussions center on building a roadmap for planners seeking to design development policies conducive to human values and long-term social viability.
Intelligent Transport Systems
E-Books/Books
Unmanned Aircraft Systems Traffic Management by
This book introduces unmanned aircraft systems traffic management (UTM) and how this new paradigm in traffic management integrates unmanned aircraft operations into national airspace systems. Exploring how UTM is expected to operate, including possible architectures for UTM implementations, and UTM services, including flight planning, strategic coordination, and conformance monitoring, Unmanned Aircraft Systems Traffic Management: UTM considers the boundaries of UTM and how it is expected to interlace with tactical coordination systems to maintain airspace safety. The book also presents the work of the global ecosystem of players advancing UTM, including relevant standards development organizations (SDOs), and considers UTM governance paradigms and challenges. FEATURES Describes UTM concept of operations (ConOps) and global variations in architectures Explores envisioned UTM services, including flight planning, strategic coordination, conformance monitoring, contingency management, constraints and geo-awareness, and remote identification Highlights cybersecurity standards development and awareness Covers approaches to the approval, management, and oversight of UTM components and ecosystem Considers the future of UTM and potential barriers to its success, international coordination, and regulatory reform This book is an essential, in-depth, annotated resource for developers, unmanned aircraft system operators, pilots, policy makers, researchers, and academics engaged in unmanned systems, transportation management, and the future of aviation.
Autonomous Vehicles
E-Books/Books
Just and Sustainable Urban Mobilities by
With the rise of shared and networked vehicles, autonomous vehicles, and other transportation technologies, technological change is outpacing urban planning and policy. Whether urban planners and policy makers like it or not, these transformations will in turn result in profound changes to streets, land use, and cities. But smarter transportation may not necessarily translate into greater sustainability or equity. There are clear opportunities to shape advances in transportation, and to harness them to reshape cities and improve the socio-economic health of cities and residents. There are opportunities to reduce collisions and improve access to healthcare for those who need it most--particularly high-cost, high-need individuals at the younger and older ends of the age spectrum. There is also potential to connect individuals to jobs and change the way cities organize space and optimize trips. To date, very little discussion has centered around the job and social implications of this technology. Further, policy dialogue on future transport has lagged--particularly in the arenas of sustainability and social justice. Little work has been done on decision-making in this high uncertainty environment-a deficiency that is concerning given that land use and transportation actions have long and lagging timelines. This is one of the first books to explore the impact that emerging transport technology is having on cities and their residents, and how policy is needed to shape the cities that we want to have in the future. The book contains a selection of contributions based on the most advanced empirical research, and case studies for how future transport can be harnessed to improve urban sustainability and justice.
Engineering Autonomous Vehicles and Robots by
Offers a step-by-step guide to building autonomous vehicles and robots, with source code and accompanying videos The first book of its kind on the detailed steps for creating an autonomous vehicle or robot, this book provides an overview of the technology and introduction of the key elements involved in developing autonomous vehicles, and offers an excellent introduction to the basics for someone new to the topic of autonomous vehicles and the innovative, modular-based engineering approach called DragonFly. Engineering Autonomous Vehicles and Robots: The DragonFly Modular-based Approach covers everything that technical professionals need to know about: CAN bus, chassis, sonars, radars, GNSS, computer vision, localization, perception, motion planning, and more. Particularly, it covers Computer Vision for active perception and localization, as well as mapping and motion planning. The book offers several case studies on the building of an autonomous passenger pod, bus, and vending robot. It features a large amount of supplementary material, including the standard protocol and sample codes for chassis, sonar, and radar. GPSD protocol/NMEA protocol and GPS deployment methods are also provided. Most importantly, readers will learn the philosophy behind the DragonFly modular-based design approach, which empowers readers to design and build their own autonomous vehicles and robots with flexibility and affordability. Offers progressive guidance on building autonomous vehicles and robots Provides detailed steps and codes to create an autonomous machine, at affordable cost, and with a modular approach Written by one of the pioneers in the field building autonomous vehicles Includes case studies, source code, and state-of-the art research results Accompanied by a website with supplementary material, including sample code for chassis/sonar/radar; GPS deployment methods; Vision Calibration methods Engineering Autonomous Vehicles and Robots is an excellent book for students, researchers, and practitioners in the field of autonomous vehicles and robots.
The Driver in the Driverless Car: How Your Technology Choices Create the Future by
Wadhwa offers us three questions to ask about every emerging technology- Does it have the potential to benefit everyone equally? What are its risks and rewards? And does it promote autonomy or dependence? Looking at a broad array of advances in this light, he emphasizes that the future is up to us to create-that even if our hands are not on the wheel, we will decide the driverless car's destination. A computer beats the reigning human champion of Go, a game harder than chess. Another is composing classical music. Labs are creating life-forms from synthetic DNA. A doctor designs an artificial trachea, uses a 3D printer to produce it, and implants it and saves a child's life. Astonishing technological advances like these are arriving in increasing numbers. Scholar and entrepreneur Vivek Wadhwa uses this book to alert us to dozens of them and raise important questions about what they may mean for us. Breakthroughs such as personalized genomics, self-driving vehicles, drones, and artificial intelligence could make our lives healthier, safer, and easier. But the same technologies raise the specter of a frightening, alienating future- eugenics, a jobless economy, complete loss of privacy, and ever-worsening economic inequality. As Wadhwa puts it, our choices will determine if our future is Star Trek or Mad Max. Wadhwa offers us three questions to ask about every emerging technology- Does it have the potential to benefit everyone equally? What are its risks and rewards? And does it promote autonomy or dependence? Looking at a broad array of advances in this light, he emphasizes that the future is up to us to create-that even if our hands are not on the wheel, we will decide the driverless car's destination.
Autonomous Vehicles
Autonomous Vehicles: Technologies, Regulations, and Societal Impacts explores both the autonomous driving concepts and the key hardware and software enablers, Artificial intelligence tools, needed infrastructure, communication protocols, and interaction with non-autonomous vehicles. It analyses the impacts of autonomous driving using a scenario-based approach to quantify the effects on the overall economy and affected sectors. The book assess from a qualitative and quantitative approach, the future of autonomous driving, and the main drivers, challenges, and barriers. The book investigates whether individuals are ready to use advanced automated driving vehicles technology, and to what extent we as a society are prepared to accept highly automated vehicles on the road. Building on the technologies, opportunities, strengths, threats, and weaknesses, Autonomous Vehicles: Technologies, Regulations, and Societal Impacts discusses the needed frameworks for automated vehicles to move inside and around cities. The book concludes with a discussion on what in applications comes next, outlining the future research needs. Broad, interdisciplinary and systematic coverage of the key issues in autonomous driving and vehicles Examines technological impact on society, governance, and the economy as a whole Includes foundational topical coverage, case studies, objectives, and glossary
|
