This page provides a list of curated resources about adaptability, that are available to TP students and staff. You will need to login to access the online resources.
eBooks / Books
Ideation
The creative curve: How to develop the right idea, at the right time by
Big data entrepreneur Allen Gannett overturns the mythology around creative genius and reveals the science and secrets behind achieving breakout commercial success in any field. Gannett reveals the four laws of creative success and identifies the common patterns behind their achievements.
ISBN: 9780753548738Publication Date: 2018
How to get to great ideas: A system for smart, extraordinary thinking by
What makes a great idea? Where do great ideas come from? The highly practical lessons in this book are based on neuroscience,psychology, and behavioral economics. Written by the former Creative Director of OgilvyOne,Dave Birss, this book offers a brilliant new system for conceiving original and valuable ideas. It looks at how to frame the problem,how to push your thinking,how to sell the idea and build support for it, and how to inspire others to have great ideas. It proves that any organization - and any department within an organization - can become a fertile environment for ideas.
ISBN: 9781473692145Publication Date: 2018
Ideas are your only currency by
FUTURE-PROOFING FOR THINKERS. 'What skills and abilities will a student need to prosper in five, ten, or fifteen years' time?' In a world of change, where skills become out of date quickly, it is ideas that last. We all need to be prepared for a world that is fluid, global and interdisciplinary. Distinctions between specialties will blur and overlap. Change is happening at electrifying speed. In this vortex there are no maps. Featuring 100 interactive chapters to inspire groundbreaking new ideas.
ISBN: 9781473640047Publication Date: 2017
Mind map mastery: The complete guide to learning and using the most powerful thinking tool in the universe by
For the past five decades, Tony Buzan has been at the leading edge of learning and educational research with his revolutionary Mind Map technique. WithMind Map Mastery,he has distilled these years of global research into the clearest and most powerful instructional work available on the Mind Map technique. "I would recommend Tony's new book to anybody who wants to improve their thinking and achieve Mind Map mastery themselves." - Dominic O'Brien, eight-time World Memory Champion and bestselling authorTony Buzan invented the Mind Map technique five decades ago. Seeing the transformational impact it had on people, he has been spreading the thinking tool across the world ever since. Tony Buzan's Mind Map technique has gathered amazing praise and an enormous worldwide following over the last few decades, but as with any very successful idea, there have been many sub-standard imitators. WithMind Map Mastery,Tony Buzan re-establishes the essential concepts that are the core of the Mind Map with a clarity and practicality unrivalled by other books. If you are looking to improve your memory, plan your business strategy, become more organized, study for an exam or plan out your future, this is the book for you. With a clarity and depth that far exceeds any other book on the subject, it includes the history of the development of the Mind Map, an explanation of what makes a Mind Map (and what isn't a Mind Map) and why it's such a powerful tool, illustrated step-by-step techniques for Mind Map development - from simple to complex applications - and how to deal with Mind Maps that have "gone wrong". Developed both for those new to the Mind Map concept as well as more experienced users who would like to revise and expand their expertise,Mind Map Masteryis the one Mind Mapping book needed on the shelf of every student and business person across the world.
ISBN: 9781786781413Publication Date: 2018
Problem Solving
The creative thinking handbook: Your step-by-step guide to problem solving in business by
The Creative Thinking Handbook argues that we need to identify and remove the 'box' around our thinking, so we canunlock unlimited streams of creativity for professional and business success. The authors show you how to develop your creative problem-solving skills to make better decisions with an individualized step-by-step strategy. Based on long-term research and testing of the creative thinking process, The Creative Thinking Handbook helps you generate more ideas and find brilliant solutions for any professional challenge.
ISBN: 9780749484675Publication Date: 2019
Design thinking: A guide to creative problem solving for everyone by
Design Thinking: A Guide to Creative Problem Solving for Everyone will assist in addressing a full spectrum of challenges from the most vexing to the everyday. It renders accessible the creative problem-solving abilities that we all possess by providing a dynamic framework and practical tools for thinking imaginatively and critically. Every aspect of design thinking is explained and analyzed together with insights on navigating through the process.
ISBN: 9781317202844Publication Date: 2018
The design thinking playbook: Mindful digital transformation of teams, products, services, businesses and ecosystems by
This book describes how Design Thinking is applied across a variety of industries, enriched with other proven approaches as well as the necessary tools, and the knowledge to use them effectively. Packed with solutions for common challenges including digital transformation, this practical, highly visual discussion shows you how Design Thinking fits into agile methods within management, innovation, and startups.
ISBN: 9781119467472Publication Date: 2018
The design thinking toolbox: A guide to mastering the most popular and valuable innovation methods by
The Design Thinking Toolbox explains the most important tools and methods to put Design Thinking into action. Based on the largest international survey on the use of design thinking, the most popular methods are described in four pages each by an expert from the global Design Thinking community. If you are involved in innovation, leadership, or design, these are tools you need. Simple instructions, expert tips, templates, and images help you implement each tool or method. Quickly and comprehensively familiarize yourself with the best design thinking tools Select the appropriate warm-ups, tools, and methods.
ISBN: 9781119629191Publication Date: 2020
Emotional Intelligence & Self Awareness
The little book of emotional intelligience: How to flourish in a crazy world by
The Little Book of Emotional Intelligence is an immediate, outcome-focused primer on the important topic of EQ, which provides practical, no-nonsense life advice and takes a sideways look at a world which is complicated and overwhelming at times.
ISBN: 9781473636347Publication Date: 2016
Emotional intelligence pocketbook: Little exercises for an intuitive life by
A practical "how-to" guide to changing the way you think about your emotions. Learn how to understand yourself and those around you with practical tips and tricks that will help you be more assertive, forge stronger relationships and manage anxiety.
ISBN: 9780857087300Publication Date: 2017
Everyday emotional intelligence: Big ideas and practical advice on how to be human at work by
Contains ten definitive HBR articles on emotional intelligence by Goleman and other leaders in the field, curated by our editors--paired with smart, focused advice from HBR experts about how to implement those ideas in your daily work life.
ISBN: 9781633694118Publication Date: 2018
Insight: The power of self-awareness in a self-deluded world by ISBN: 9781509839629Publication Date: 2017
Questioning
Ask more: The power of questions to open doors, uncover solutions, and spark change by
Emmy award-winning journalist and media expert Frank Sesno shares how to question others in a methodical, intentional way so that you can find the same success that others have found by mastering this simple skill.
ISBN: 9780814436714Publication Date: 2017
Listen up or lose out: How to avoid miscommunication, improve relationships, and get more done faster by
Most people retain only a fraction of what they hear, resulting in miscommunications and lost opportunities. But learning how to actively listen and absorb what a person is saying, thinking, and feeling can set the stage for dramatically improved relationships and increased personal success.In Listen Up or Lose Out, communications expert Robert Bolton highlights the underestimated and not well utilized tool of active listening and explains how it can be used to gather perspectives, bridge differences, and resolve problems. By breaking down listening into a set of learnable skills such as avoiding the urge to criticize, question, or advise; focusing on the speaker's point of view; asking the right questions, in the right order; and learning how to read people's feelings and reflect them back, Bolton explains how one can become a skilled listener who experiences fewer conflicts, makes better decisions, and discovers opportunities that others might miss. Whether personally or in business, could you benefit from better communication? Give listening a try!
ISBN: 9780814432013Publication Date: 2018
Journal articles
Ideation
- A Short Guide to Building Your Team's Critical Thinking Skills This article in Harvard Business Review is about the Critical Thinking Roadmap, a framework that breaks critical thinking down into four measurable phases: the ability to execute, synthesize, recommend, and generate.
- Addressing the influence of groupthink during ideation concerned with new applications of technology in society Ideation concerned with new applications of technology in society is often constrained by groupthink. Findings indicate that the constraining influence of groupthink can be reduced, but much work may be required to do so.
- Brainstorming variants to favor creative design Published in Applied Ergonomics, this study found that brainstorming should be tailored to the task's complexity and individual's specialty.
- How to brainstorm--remotely In the age of Covid-19, many of us are not working together in the same rooms as we were in the past, but we still need to generate ideas. There are both disadvantages and advantages to brainstorming remotely but you can make the most of the advantages to come up with new solutions.
- You don’t have to be an entrepreneur to be entrepreneurial: The unique role of imaginativeness in new venture ideation This article published in Business Horizon examines how imaginativeness is highly useful for new venture ideation, especially for individuals who lack entrepreneurial experience.
- Why Design Thinking Works Design thinking helps people to overcome biases and entrenched behaviors. The design thinking process has a clear structure that makes people more comfortable with trying new things, and processes increase collaboration.
Problem Solving
- Are You Solving the Right Problems? In this article published in HBR, it was found that creative solutions often come from reframing the problem. The point of reframing is not to find the “real” problem but, rather, to see if there is a better problem to solve. Seven practices of effective reframing are presented.
- How to Avoid Rushing to Solutions When Problem-Solving This HBR article contains a simple, four-step process that can help you get past the urge to rush to solutions.
Emotional Regulation & Self Awareness
- How to Embrace Change Using Emotional Intelligence Changes at work can lead to burnout and put into motion an insidious cycle that leads to even greater resistance to organizational change. Improving your adaptability, a critical emotional intelligence competency, is key to breaking this cycle. This Harvard Business Review article contains four strategies to help you embrace changes.
- Managing job burnout: The effects of emotion-regulation ability, emotional labor, and positive and negative affect at work Published in International Journal of Stress Management, this study examines emotion-regulation ability and job burnout in Chinese employees from a wide range of occupations. It was found that emotion-regulation ability is negatively related to job burnout, especially in jobs that require high emotional labor.
Questioning
- Good Leadership Is About Asking Good Questions Instead of assuming that people look to them for answers, leaders should ask powerful and inspiring questions, convey that they don’t have the answers, and solicit others’ help to find them. Article is published Harvard Business Review.
- The Surprising Power of Questions In this article published by Harvard Business Review, learn how questioning is a powerful tool for unlocking value in companies: It spurs learning and the exchange of ideas, it fuels innovation and better performance, and it builds trust among team members.
Gartner
Gartner contains reports, case studies, and best practices about technological products, services, trends, issues, and vendors. Our subscription allows access to all topics and these three industries: Education, Government, and Healthcare Providers.
- Enterprise Architects Combine Design Thinking, Lean Startup and Agile to Drive Digital Innovation Business model and technology innovations are relentless, as each organization must learn and experiment to develop products, services and new ways of working. EA and technology innovation leaders must use a combination of iterative, experimental methodologies to support digital innovation efforts.
- How Emotional Intelligence Helps Leaders Become More Effective Emotional intelligence is directly related to success at work. IT leaders, including business transformation and process leaders, should evaluate their emotional intelligence to improve their self-awareness and ability to regulate their own emotions.
- Jump-Start Your Innovation Journey With a Customizable Innovation Framework In the digital era, business change is the new normal and innovation is essential to success. Yet navigating the expanding landscape of innovation approaches can be intimidating. CIOs can use this innovation framework to design innovation roadmaps that deliver high-value business outcomes.
- Solve Your Chronic Problems Before They Kill the Business Year after year, CIOs list the same problems as barriers to success and attempt the same solutions. CIOs must escalate these “IT” problems to the business to solve them for good and save the enterprise from a crisis.
- When and How to Combine Predictive and Prescriptive Techniques to Solve Business Problems Organizations are struggling to improve their decision making. To help shape the future of the organization, data and analytics leaders must understand when and how to combine predictive and prescriptive analytics.
WGSN
WGSN provides trend forecasting, trend & market analysis, global fashion expertise, research & strategies on products, brand extensions, market opportunities & branding.
- The Adaptable Workforce Moving beyond intelligence (IQ) and emotion (EQ), adaptability quotient (AQ) is emerging as the most relevant metric to assess employee potential.
- Business Strategies: Creative Thinking As consumer needs and business environments continuously change, we analyse how creativity can help companies to innovate, improve and thrive in times of crisis.
- The Design Thinking Toolkit In this report, WGSN unpacks the key elements behind design thinking and present a series of key case studies, translating concepts into strategic actions for your company.
- Emodiversity Experiencing the whole spectrum of our emotions is key to our well-being. This is emodiversity, and it's the next new big movement to hit the mindful market.
- Emotion-Based Technology: Shifts & Strategies A new generation of emotionally intelligent technology will enable companies to connect with their audience on an emotional level, responding to their fluctuating feelings and moods.