Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources / JoVE: JoVE

What is Jove

JoVE is a video database dedicated to teaching laboratory techniques and experiments. You can create a personal JoVE account so that you can watch JoVE videos off campus easily.

JoVE video database

TP Library subscribes to the following collections:

(A) Under Education > Jove Science Education > Basic Biology:

(1) General Laboratory Techniques (2) Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology (3) Biology II: Mouse, Zebrafish, and Chick (4) Lab Animal Research

(B) Under Education > Jove Science Education > Chemistry > Analytical Chemistry

(C) Under Research (=video journals) > Biology 
 

These collections are coloured and clickable from the Jove access page:

Note: Jove has provided complimentary access to two collections not in our subscription: Cancer Research and Coronavirus / COVID-19 Procedures.

How to search in JoVE

1. On the homepage, type your keyword(s) into the search box and press enter.


2. On the search results page, use the filters at the top to narrow your results. To ensure you have access to the content, click on the collections that TP Library subscribes to, such as Research > Biology, Education > Biology or Education > Chemistry. Do note that we do not subscribe to all the collections within Education > Biology and Chemistry.


3. If the name of the collection has a green circle next to it, you will have access to the content through the library's subscription. A grey circle denotes that the library does not have subscription to the collection.

 

What is Jove?

Troubleshooting

Dear student, if you encounter a JoVE video or test that you are supposed to access but you can't view the entire video, please do not sign up for free trial or fill up the recommendation form. Instead, follow the steps below. If you still face issues, email asklib@tp.edu.sg.


Scenario 1: I can't view the JoVE videos I am supposed to watch.

Please login to access JoVE from the TP Library website or click hereYou can watch JoVE videos in school or at home, as long as you login using the unique links for TP listed above (do not Google for Jove and try to login!). When you do so, JoVE authenticates you as a TP student or staff, and you will be able to view the videos that we subscribe to.

After you've signed in, search for the video you are supposed to watch, following the steps on the left of this page.


Scenario 2: I received an email about a JoVE test but I can't access it at home.

You need to create a personalized JoVE account in order to access JoVE tests at home. How to set up an account using your TP student email

When you receive the JoVE tests invitation from your teacher, click on the second link and sign into JoVE using the JoVE log in account you have created.