Never heard of a Law related diploma? That's because TP is the only polytechnic offering a full-time diploma in Law & Management. In fact, you will have the opportunity to attain a Certificate for Basic Legal Technology Competency, awarded by Singapore Academy of Law and ICDL Asia. Curious about the entry requirements, or the course framework? Wondering what job opportunities are available? Get the latest official information from the Law course site!
Law is also a diploma which requires very specialised resources, compared to other diplomas. The Library has a number of specialist resources for this purpose, including Lawnet and Lexis Advance Singapore, among others. Check out more details here.
The Law Gazette is the official publication of the Law Society of Singapore which contains useful features such as "Case Notes" & "Legal News".
Articles to read from The Law Gazette are available below.
Looking to browse the Law collection? TP's Law titles can be found under the letter "K" on Level 7, or browse the latest titles online using this link.
The law of torts in Singapore by
Tort law has continued to develop apace in the intervening period since the first edition of the book was published in 2011: new torts have emerged, existing torts re-formulated, and important clarifications made on the scope of specific torts and doctrines. These developments are captured in this second edition, salient examples of which include See Toh Siew Kee v Ho Ah Lam Ferrocement (Pte) Ltd (occupiers’ liability); Anwar Patrick Adrian v Ng Chong & Hue LLC and AEL v Cheo Yeoh & Associates LLC (solicitor’s duty of care); EFT Holding, Inc v Marinteknik Shipbuilders (S) Pte Ltd (unlawful means conspiracy); and Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken AB (Publ), Singapore Branch v Asia Pacific Breweries (Singapore) Pte Ltd (vicarious liability). The scope and impact of new statutory torts introduced pursuant to the Protection from Harassment Act and Community Disputes Resolution Act 2015 are also examined. As with the previous edition, a comparative view is offered by considering, where relevant, new developments in other leading Commonwealth jurisdictions.
Contract Law in Singapore by
Derived from the renowned multi-volume International Encyclopaedia of Laws, this practical analysis of the law of contracts in Singapore covers every aspect of the subject - definition and classification of contracts, contractual liability, relation to the law of property, good faith, burden of proof, defects, penalty clauses, arbitration clauses, remedies in case of non-performance, damages, power of attorney, and much more. Lawyers who handle transnational contracts will appreciate the explanation of fundamental differences in terminology, application, and procedure from one legal system to another, as well as the international aspects of contract law. Throughout the book, the treatment emphasizes drafting considerations. An introduction in which contracts are defined and contrasted to torts, quasi-contracts, and property is followed by a discussion of the concepts of 'consideration' or 'cause' and other underlying principles of the formation of contract. Subsequent chapters cover the doctrines of 'relative effect', termination of contract, and remedies for non-performance. The second part of the book, recognizing the need to categorize an agreement as a specific contract in order to determine the rules which apply to it, describes the nature of agency, sale, lease, building contracts, and other types of contract. Facts are presented in such a way that readers who are unfamiliar with specific terms and concepts in varying contexts will fully grasp their meaning and significance. Its succinct yet scholarly nature, as well as the practical quality of the information it provides, make this book a valuable time-saving tool for business and legal professionals alike. Lawyers representing parties with interests in Singapore will welcome this very useful guide, and academics and researchers will appreciate its value in the study of comparative contract law.
The legal system of Singapore: institutions, principles and practices by
Over the decades, the legal system in Singapore has evolved in a manner that draws from its Westminster heritage but also meets changing needs and aspirations. The 50th anniversary of the nation's independence in 2015 is an apt occasion to take stock of these developments. The chapters of this book can be grouped broadly under the headings 'Institutions', 'Principles' and & 'Practices'. It is the most up-to-date Singapore legal system book around, written with students in mind and those who require a quick grounding in the legal system in Singapore. Key Features - It covers the history of the legal system, fundamental constitutional concepts and the implications they have for the roles of the branches of government. - It gives a close examination on the institutions making up the legal system: the Executive, Legislature and Judiciary; the legal profession; and legal education in Singapore. - It includes practice-oriented chapters such as civil and criminal litigation, mediation and arbitration, and Singapore's relations with the international legal system. - It discusses the doctrine of judicial precedent, case method and analysis, and statutory interpretation.
Law of contract in Singapore by
The first edition of this book was the first textbook on Singapore contract law that was written for a local audience. Offering a comprehensive and structured discussion of all aspects of Singapore contract law, it quickly became one of the leading texts preferred by local practitioners and students. This second edition not only maintains this fine form but builds on it. The book continues to draw, wherever applicable, on salient decisions from other Commonwealth jurisdictions (particularly with regard to areas of Singapore contract law that are not well settled or which may benefit from comparative contract jurisprudence). In addition, the book contains references to relevant secondary literature as well as suggestions for reform, where applicable and necessary.
The second edition of this work takes into account many developments in the case law. These include those in respect of consideration, no oral modification clauses, contractual interpretation, implied terms, anticipatory breach, mistake, contractual illegality, the doctrine of unconscionability, and various aspects of the law relating to damages (including liquidated damages).
Law and technology in Singapore by 
The law of evidence in Singapore by 
Criminal procedure in Singapore by 
In Chambers : 150 years of upholding the rule of law by 
Singapore civil procedure 2017 by The Singapore Law Reports encompasses Singapore's legal system and are essential in the development of it's laws. Wondering why that's important? It's because Singapore has a common law system, which means laws can be made incrementally by judges. Read more here. The law reports are also accessible online via the LawNet database.
