Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources / EBSCOhost: Home

What is EBSCOhost Databases?

EBSCOhost Databases contain full-text journal and magazine articles from various subject areas. 

Academic Search Premier: multi-disciplinary database for subjects from the science and social sciences.

APA PsycARTICLES & PsycTEST: peer-reviewed scholarly & scientific articles in psychology as well as psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments.

Business Source Complete: include accounting & finance, economics, human resource, international business, media, marketing, tourism, transport & distribution, & more.

Education Research Complete: all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all education specialities, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

By default, EBSCOhost searches across all databases unless you select one or more databases.

Introduction

There are now more databases in EBSCOhost, including Academic Search Premier, PsycARTICLES and PsycTEST. Check out the comic below for more information. [Guide]

 

Choosing specific database(s)

EBSCOhost contains several databases. For more relevant results, you may want to select the exact database(s) to search, such as Business Source Complete.

To do so, click on Choose Databases above the search boxes:

 

Choose the exact database(s) that you want from the list below. If you are interested in searching only APA PsycARTICLES or PsycTESTS, use this link.

Refining Your Search Results

By default, the results are sorted by Relevance. You can narrow your results with the filters on the left column. For example, you can set the Publication Date range or Source Types.

Publication Date: For scientific research topics, it is important to make sure the articles you use are current. Use this filter to limit your results to the most current ones!

Source Types: What are the difference? Click here to see a table comparison!

Document Delivery Service

Not all articles in EBSCOhost are available in Full Text. You may see a FIND IT @ TP button at your results list. Click it to see if the article is available elsewhere in TP Library's e-resources. If the full-text is not available, just submit a Document Delivery request for staff or student, and we will source it for you. Students will need their lecturer's support.

Finding Journal Articles

1. At the welcome screen, select Find Journal Articles

 

2. Enter your search terms, for example: children AND fast food

 

3. : Not all articles have Full Text. In the Search Options, tick the Full Text to ensure only complete articles are shown in the results:

Reading The Article

The Preview Icon takes you to the abstract of the article. An abstract is a brief summary to help the reader quickly ascertain the article's purpose. See an example here.

 

Clicking on the article title takes you to the article page and more information.

  1. HTML Full Text - takes you directly to the full text of the article
  2. PDF Full Text - takes you to a PDF version of the full text
  3. Tools -
    • Google Drive - Save the article to your Google Drive account
    • Print - Print the article
    • Email - Email the article to yourself or multiple email addresses
    • Save - Save the article on your computer
    • Cite - Retrieve citation information for the article in several different formats
    • Export - Export the article to your bibliographic management software
    • Permalink - Copy and paste a persistent link to the article

 

Finding Similar Articles

Once you've found an article relevant to your topic, make use of the Find Similar Results feature to explore more articles from the same topic. This can be found on the left column of the article page.

Auto-Generated APA Citation

EBSCOhost has an automated citation feature at the article page. Click on Cite under Tools on the right column to cite the article in APA format. Remember, this auto-generated citations may not be correct! Refer to this guide for a more precise APA format citations.