Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources / ProQuest SciTech & Sociology: Scholarly Journal Articles

What is ProQuest SciTech & Sociology?

ProQuest SciTech & Sociology allows you to find full text journal articles of various subject areas.

  • ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection: covers agricultural & aquatic science, biological science, and aerospace.
  • ProQuest Sociology: covers social work, theory of sociology, social psychology & more.

Document Delivery Service

Not all articles in ProQuest are available in full text. You may see a "FindIt@TP" button. Click it to search to see if the article is available elsewhere in TP Library's e-resources. If the full text is not available, just submit a Document Delivery request for staff or student, and Library will get the article for you. Students will require their lecturer's support.

Export your results to Mendeley

ScienceDirect allows you to easily export articles to Mendeley. Sign up for a free Mendeley account to keep track of your research and easily generate the citations in your reference list.

Filter by source type

Use the Source Type filter on the left of the results page to narrow your results.

Let's start searching ProQuest!

1. At the ProQuest homepage, key in your search statement in the box and mark the Full Text button. You need to use Boolean search techniques in order to get relevant search results in ProQuest. Unsure about how to use Boolean? Check out this interactive game.


2. At the results page, use the filters on the left to refine your search results if necessary. For scientific research topics, currency is important so make use of the publication date filter! 

Click on the article title you wish to view.


3. At the article page, you can read the full text or click on the download button to save the article as a PDF.

Magazines vs. Trade Journals vs. Scholarly Journals

ProQuest has a wide variety of different source types - journal articles, magazines, newspaper articles and more. What is the difference between a scholarly journal, magazine and trade journal?

thumbnail National Geographic

magazines

Computer in Libraries

trade journals

thumbnail Jnl of Interior Design

scholarly journals

- popular & glossy - popular with professionals in their field - scholarly & serious
- author usually a journalist or professional writer, sometimes no author name is given - author usually a professional with experience in their field - author usually an expert, e.g. researcher or lecturer
- often no citations or reference list given - sometimes citations or reference lists given - in text citations and often lengthy references lists included
- short easy-to-understand articles - specialized terminology or jargon - longer articles with more technical jargon used
- written to entertain & sometimes inform - written to inform - for scholarly communication of research
- evaluated by an editor - evaluated by an editor - usually subject to peer review

Auto-cite with ProQuest

At the article page, click on Cite to cite the article in your selected citation format - either APA or IEEE. Remember, these machine-generated citations may not be 100% correct!

Locating more articles

Once you've found an article relevant to your topic, make use of the Related Items and Documents with Shared References to leapfrog into more articles from the same topic.

These can be found at the right column of the article page. 


Not all the articles listed under these sections may be accessible. You can use the Document Delivery Service if you found an article which Library does not have access to. Click here to access the form for staff or student.